Department of Climate Change

Gateway to National Action on Climate Change

Department of Climate Change (DCC) of the Federal Ministry of Environment is the National Focal Point for the implementation of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC), Kyoto Protocol, and Paris Agreement. The Department works in tandem with the Inter-ministerial Committee on Climate Change (ICCC).

Interministerial Committee on Climate Change (ICCC):

  • The ICCC forms a policy advisory organ for government under the Chairmanship of the Federal Ministry of Environment through the Department of Climate Change, and coordinates the cross-ministerial action on climate change through the ICCC as the main coordinating mechanism;
  • The Committee is composed of line MDAs;
  • The Committee meets regularly on quarterly basis and on ad-hoc basis to review policies on climate change, advice government on appropriate actions, and put up Nigeria’s position at meetings where climate change issues are being discussed or negotiated;
  • The ICCC had meetings, which led to the development of MDA-specific Action Plans for the high priority sectors.


Meet the Team

Dr. Mohammad Mahmood Abubakar

Hon. Minister

Dr. Mohammad Mahmood Abubakar was born on 30th December, 1958 in Tudun Wada, Kaduna South of Kaduna State. He obtained his Bachelor’snDegree in (Biology Major, Chemistry Minor) specializing in Microbiology and Master’s Degree in Resources Management

Chief Sharon O. Ikeazor

Hon. Minister of State

Sharon started her Primary School Education at the St. Mary's Convent School Lagos, Secondary Schools at the Queen of the Rosary College Onitsha, the Godolphin School Salisbury England then for Higher Studies at the Ahmadu Bello University Zaria.

Halima Bawa-Bwari

Deputy Director and Overseeing Head, DCC

Halima Bawa-Bwari has a Master’s Degree in Zoology. She has worked with the Federal Ministry of Environment since the early 90s as an Environmental Scientist

Mrs Iniobong Abiola-Awe

Deputy Director and Head, GHGI Division

Mrs Iniobong Abiola-Awe holds a Professional Master's Degree in Environmental Management in addition to her first and second Degrees in Zoology.

Alhaji Aliyu Musa Yauri

Deputy Director and Head, EA&O Division

Alhaji Aliyu Musa Yauri has a Bachelor of Science-degree in  Health Education from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, and a National Certificate of Education from the Institute of Education, Ahmadu Bello University Zaria.